Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 99

Day 99 of Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 is a debut novel from Lucy A. McLaren with her amazing book, Awakening (The Commune's Curse book 1).  This book truly stood out as being an amazing piece of writing and with it being the first offering from a series you are simply left wanting more.

The Kingdom of Septima is ruled in all but name by the Commune, a ruthless cult that seeks control of an ancient power that has taken root in unsuspecting children in Septima. To maintain their hold on the kingdom, the Commune will stop at nothing to capture children who show signs of this power, to be weaponised or eliminated. 18-year-old Evelyn Folksman is in hiding. Taken in by a tavern-owner, she is haunted by the horrific events that drove her from her home years before. Evelyn is forced to face her past when two wayward children, Raif and Rose Huntsman, arrive at the tavern, pursued by Commune soldiers. The children fall under Evelyn's reluctant care as the trio narrowly escape a raid. Relentlessly hunted by Commander Jonah Sulemon and Commune agent Lord Eirik Torrant, Evelyn and Raif cannot fathom why they pose such a threat to the Commune, until six-year-old Rose unwittingly reveals a terrible secret: she possesses powers more fearsome than any the Commune has unearthed in decades. There are only two options: to be captured and imprisoned, or to run for the rest of their lives. They hurtle feverishly through the countryside, barely evading Commune attacks, and inadvertently finding themselves in the middle of a growing rebellion against the Commune's oppressive regime. Evelyn, Raif, and Rose must learn who to trust and who to fight as they evade the deadly grasp of the Commune in the first chapter of this exciting new trilogy...


In a world where an ancient power is often hidden from everyone, the children who posses the power have different levels of strength to their power and different areas they specialise in but are now hunted down by the Commune.  This world has seen many in hiding, taken away, killed or even turned into slaves but Evelyn, an eighteen year old who has once had her powers show, will not allow herself to be taken and so will continue her journey throughout as many lands as she needs to in order to protect herself but when joined by Raif and his younger sister Rose, she now must take on the responsibility of becoming their protector too.  Can Evelyn and those she seeks to protect remain safe or are there things hidden that will cause their world to unravel further as they run?

This is a debut novel from Lucy A. McLaren and is a fantastic piece of literature which is well written, full of twists and turns and a world that feels huge.  The fact that you finish this book and wish for the second instalment immediately shows just how good this is.


Popular posts from this blog

Feed My Reads Awards 2022 and your winners are

Book review - An Enemy Like Me by Teri M. Brown

Claude Bouchard interview