Posts

Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 84

Image
Far From Mars: Nine Creative Nonfiction Stories Featuring People and Places in Champaign-Urbana by Sal Nudo is our Feed My Reads recommended read in 2022 for day 84, this book is a really different read from things I've read before and is very much one that is recommended as being something different in a good way and well worth checking out. “Far From Mars” contains nine creative nonfiction articles about individuals who live and work in Champaign-Urbana, two adjoining towns in east central Illinois. The pieces range from dog walkers who adore their Greyhounds to a cassette collector who hosts a local radio show and plays on-air music via the tapes he buys. Readers will also meet an established chef who is now part owner of a new restaurant, a recovered alcoholic turned antique collector, and a musician who performs solo despite a lingering cold that will alter his performance. The book concludes with an award-winning immersion journalism story, “The Man Who Lives to Help,” which

Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 83

Image
Day 83 of Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 is one that we had the pleasure of getting to check out before it releases and one that we are excited for the Feed My Reads community to get the chance to read, it is Meredith, Alone by Claire Alexander. For anyone who has lost hope, Meredith will help you find it . . . Pre-order the most uplifting and unforgettable debut of the summer NAMED 'ONE TO WATCH' IN  GRAZIA, CULTUREFLY, THE BOOKSELLER  AND BY THE BBC 'Gorgeous. I shed tears. Very, very touching, sweet and hopeful'  MARIAN KEYES 'Beautiful, moving and unexpectedly timely. It's such a pleasure to spend time in Meredith's world'  DAISY BUCHANAN 'Touching and funny and sad and hopeful. I loved  Meredith, Alone  so much!'  JANE FALLON ________ Meredith Maggs hasn't left her house in 1,214 days. But she insists she isn't alone. She has her cat, Fred. Her friend Sadie visits when she can. There's her online support group, StrengthInNumbe

Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 82

Image
Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 day 82 comes to us from Ceri at Read and Review It and is She Gets the Girl by Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick.  This one is being put there among the top reads of the year and that should tell you it is worth checking out if Ceri has put this one as so well received by her. Read the instant  New York Times  bestseller and TikTok sensation -- THE new swoon-worthy hate-to-love rom com from #1  New York Times  bestselling co-author of  Five Feet Apart  Rachael Lippincott and debut writer Alyson Derrick. The perfect summer read for fans of Adam Silvera, Casey McQuiston, Becky Albertalli and Alice Oseman's HEARTSTOPPER series! Alex and Molly are two girls who don’t belong on the same  planet , let alone the same college campus . . .​ Alex  Blackwood  is a little bit headstrong, with a dash of chaos and a whole lot of flirt. She knows how to get the girl.  Keeping  her on the other hand . . . not so much. Molly Parker  has everything in her life t

Book review from Ceri at Read and Review It - She Gets the Girl by Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick

Image
Book -  She Gets the Girl Author -  Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick Rating - Review: This was such a cute read! This book is really up there with my favourite reads of the year and I loved every second of it… I mean two girls helping each other getting their dream girls only to fall for each other? Sign me up! What I loved even more than that, though, was that it wasn’t the primary focus - Alex and Molly both went so far throughout the book and I would argue that this is primarily about self discovery. The fact that I connected really well with the characters probably helped this too! I’d definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a cute new romance.

Feed My Reads Recommended in 2022 - day 81

Image
Day 81 of Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 sees us bring a book from an author of the Feed My Reads community to you, Love Still Bites by Barbara Avon.  This book was a first piece of work read by this author but truly one that showed a talent that means there will be plenty more being read in the future. Satisfy your craving for fiction in a bite-sized morsel, or indulge all at once. This is my second collection of flash fiction that spans various genres. Primarily, though, love still bites. Review: Barbara Avon is an author who writes across many genres and so deciding on which of her works to try out first was something I had been considering for a while and when I came across this book of bite-sized fiction I decided that I would try this one first to get a feel for her work.  The book offers up a variety of bite sized pieces and is a great way to get a feel for the author and from my experience of this book I found myself impressed with her writing style and found that she was ab

Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 80

Image
We love when we are able to give a recommended read that comes from the Feed My Reads community authors and our day 80 of Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 comes from Ginnine Josete with her book Living With Chickens. Gladys is a middle aged widower who's trying to navigate a world full of new technology. She watches her neighborhood with binoculars, asks Mrs. Google questions about everything and talks with her favorite pet rooster Sam. Will Gladys exasperate Mr. Johnson to the point of no return? Will she continue to find her own way to master the Interweb? Will you be able to follow her long winded conversations with her daughter Lillian or her craft group of like minded women? Laugh out loud with this light hearted story that will make you root for a happy ending for this female busybody that will steal your heart as she finds her way in a bright new future. Review: Living With Chickens is a book that follows the story of Gladys, a 50-something year old who lives on her own, ot

Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 - day 79

Image
We are delighted that for Feed My Reads recommended in 2022 sees a book put forward by a member of the Feed My Reads community, Ceri from Read and Review It has put forward The Last Girl by Goldy Moldavsky. When it comes to horror movies, the rules are clear: - Avoid abandoned buildings, warehouses, and cabins at all times. - Stay together: don’t split up, not even just to “check something out.… - If there’s a murderer on the loose, do NOT make out with anyone … New girl Rachel Chavez turns to horror movies for comfort, preferring them to the bored rich kids of her fancy New York High School. But then Rachel is recruited by the Mary Shelley Club, a mysterious student club that sets up terrifying Fear Tests; elaborate pranks inspired by urban legends and horror movies. But when a sinister masked figure appears, Rachel realises that her past has caught up with her. It’s time for the ultimate prank to play out … Review: I love a good thriller, and this one’s up there with my favourites! T